Skip to main content

Military Health System

Utility Navigation Links

TRICARE Policy Manual 6010.63-M, April 2021
Chapter 11
Section 1.1
Providers - General
Issue Date:  January 28, 1994
Authority:  32 CFR 199.2(b) and 32 CFR 199.6
TRICARE benefits may be allowed for the following authorized providers: (For information on authorized providers refer to 32 CFR 199.2 and 32 CFR 199.6.)
1.1  Institutional Providers
Categories of institutional providers include:
•  Hospitals, acute care, general and special.
•  Organ transplantation centers.
•  Organ transplant consortia.
•  Hospitals, psychiatric.
•  Hospitals, long-term (tuberculosis, chronic care, or rehabilitation).
•  Skilled Nursing Facilities (SNFs).
•  Residential Treatment Centers (RTCs).
•  Christian Science sanatoriums.
•  Infirmaries.
•  Other special institutional providers.
•  Freestanding Ambulatory Surgical Centers (ASCs).
•  Birthing centers.
•  Psychiatric and Substance Use Disorder (SUD) Partial Hospitalization Programs (PHPs).
•  Hospice programs.
•  Inpatient/Residential Substance Use Disorder Rehabilitation Facilities (SUDRFs).
•  Intensive Outpatient Programs (IOPs), psychiatric, and SUD.
•  Opioid Treatment Programs (OTPs).
1.2  Individual Professional Providers
Types of professional providers include:
1.2.1  Physicians
•  Doctors of Medicine (M.D.)
•  Doctors of Osteopathy (D.O.)
1.2.2  Dentists
1.2.3  Other Allied Health Professionals
•  Clinical psychologist.
•  Doctors of Optometry.
•  Doctors of Podiatry or Surgical Chiropody.
•  Certified Nurse Midwives (CNMs).
•  Certified Nurse Practitioners (NPs).
•  Certified Clinical Social Worker (CSW).
•  Certified Psychiatric Nurse Specialist (CPNS).
•  Certified Physician Assistants (PAs).
•  Anesthesiologist Assistant (AA).
•  Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA).
•  Other individual paramedical providers.
•  Licensed Registered Nurses (RNs).
•  Licensed registered Physical Therapists (PTs) and Occupational Therapists (OTs).
•  Licensed or certified Physical Therapist Assistants (PTAs) and Occupational Therapy Assistants (OTAs).
•  Audiologists.
•  Speech therapists (speech pathologists).
•  Registered Dietitian (RD).
•  Nutritionist.
•  TRICARE Certified Mental Health Counselor (TCMHC).
1.2.4  Extramedical Individual Providers
•  Certified marriage and family therapists.
•  Pastoral counselors.
•  Supervised Mental Health Counselor (SMHC).
•  Christian Science practitioners and Christian Science nurses.
1.3  Other Providers
Categories include:
•  Independent laboratory.
•  Suppliers of portable x-ray services.
•  Pharmacies.
•  Ambulance companies.
•  Medical equipment firms, medical supply firms.
•  Mammography suppliers.
•  State Vaccine Programs or State Vaccine Program entities (SVPs) as suppliers of vaccines.
1.4  Extended Care Health Option (ECHO) Providers
Categories include:
•  ECHO inpatient care provider.
•  ECHO outpatient care provider.
•  ECHO durable equipment vendor.
1.5  Corporate Services Providers
1.6  Medicare-Certified Home Health Agencies (HHAs)
- END -
Follow us on Instagram Follow us on LinkedIn Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on YouTube Sign up on GovDelivery